Displaying CLM Content in the Veeva CRM Desktop App

  • CRM Desktop (Mac, Windows)

To preview CLM presentation slides and prepare presentation windows to be shared in calls, users can display multiple presentations at once in Normal View and Presentation View.

For example, Sarah Jones prepares for a call with Dr. Clinton Ackerman by previewing the three CLM presentations she wants to share during the call. She launches the presentations in Normal View to memorize the slide order. She then launches the presentations in Presentation View to rehearse the full presentations and leaves them in Presentation View. Later, during the call, Sarah shares her screen and selects the Presentation View window for one presentation, and the app creates a call key message to track the CLM activity. When she switches to the second presentation using the Alt and Tab keys on the keyboard, the app creates a second call key message to track the second presentation.

Configuration is not needed for this feature.

Displaying Presentations in Normal View

When a user launches a presentation from the library, it displays in Normal View. The first slide is selected by default. Normal View only displays a preview of the selected slide. The slides are not interactive. In call mode, sharing a presentation in Normal View does not track the key messages on the call report.

The preview displayed for each slide depends on the file type of the slide:

  • Image – displays the image
  • PDF – displays the PDF. Links are not active. Users can zoom in and out of PDF content only.
  • Video – displays depending on the images available in the content package. Images are used in the follow order:
    • Poster.png
    • If Poster.png is not available, then display the fullscreen preview image (<filename>-full.png)
    • If the fullscreen preview image is not available, then display thumb.png
    • See Packaging Custom CLM Content for more information.

  • HTML – displays depending on the images available in the content package. Images are used in the follow order:
    • Poster.png
    • If Poster.png is not available, then display the fullscreen preview image (<filename>-full.png)
    • If the fullscreen preview image is not available, then display the rendered HTML, including animations. However, the preview is not interactive and user input is ignored.

If a preview image cannot be rendered, the No Preview image displays.

A slide counter displays in the window. Sub-presentation slides are not counted in the total number of slides.

Displaying Presentations in Presentation View

To display dynamic content and track key messages, users must display content in Presentation View by selecting the Start Slideshow button in the bottom right corner of the Normal View window. In Presentation View, slides display in fullscreen and are interactive. In call mode, displaying a presentation in Presentation View tracks the key messages on the call report. Sub-presentations can only be displayed once per call mode session. If the user ends and then restarts call mode, the sub-presentations can be displayed again.

When users display CLM presentations in Presentation View without initiating call mode, the CLM activity is tracked on Multichannel_Activity_vod and Multichannel_Activity_Line_vod records and not associated with a call. See Tracking CLM Preview Activity on the Veeva CRM Desktop App for more information. To enable Save for Later tracking, which replaces tracking unassociated CLM activity, see Tracking Save for Later CLM Activity in the Veeva CRM Desktop App.

On the CRM Desktop (Mac) platform, displaying a presentation in Presentation View creates a space. Users can swipe to navigate between spaces. See the Apple documentation for more information about spaces.

Use the keyboard arrow keys to navigate between slides in Presentation View. Use the Escape key to exit a presentation. Users cannot navigate backwards in a sub-presentation. When users finish displaying a sub-presentation, use the right arrow key to display the parent slide. Exiting Presentation View displays Normal View and the thumbnail for the most recently displayed slide is selected. Users can zoom in and out of PDF content only.

Users can also navigate a presentation using the shortcut menu. The shortcut menu includes the Last Viewed option, which allows users to navigate to the 10 most recently displayed slides, including sub-presentation slides. Last Viewed is unavailable if there are no previously displayed slides.

Opening Multiple Presentation Windows

Users can open multiple presentation windows at once. Launch each presentation one by one or use the following options to select multiple presentations and launch them all at once:

  • Selecting the Open button in the media library
  • Using the appropriate keyboard shortcut (Enter on Windows, Command + O on Mac)
  • Selecting Open from the right-select context menu

Users can also use the context menu to perform the following actions to multiple selected presentations:

  • Download
  • Favorite
  • Add Labels
  • Duplicate
  • Delete

Sync updates to the media library can be applied while presentations are open. Open presentations are not updated until the user selects Apply Updates in the media library. When the user applies the update, open presentations become black screens in the following cases:

  • The presentation is expired and no longer available in the media library
  • Mac: There is an updated version of the presentation. The user must download the updated version of the presentation in the media library and refresh the presentation window to display the updated content.
  • Windows: There is an updated version of the presentation and the user downloads the updated version of the presentation in the media library. The user must refresh the presentation window to display the updated content.

During call mode, multiple presentations can be open and tracked on the call, but only one presentation can be tracked at a time. Tracking is paused for presentations in Presentation View which are not displayed in the foreground. The app creates a Call2_Key_Message_vod record for each presentation shared in Presentation View in the foreground which meets the tracking criteria. See Tracking CLM Key Messages for more information on the tracking criteria.

During call mode, open presentations which are not available for the call display black screens. CLM presentations available for a call are based on the Restricted Products, Allowed Products, and Account Segmentations for the accounts in the call.