Account Deep Linking

  • iPad
  • iPhone

Account Deep Linking is a custom URL scheme allowing users to navigate directly to an account profile in Veeva CRM from an external application. When users rely on an external enterprise application to access specialized information about HCPs, they need to move between the external application and Veeva CRM to maximize their time. With Account Deep Linking, users can do that automatically without signing into Veeva CRM and searching for a specific HCP.

For example, Sarah Jones's company uses a reporting tool built on an external business intelligence platform. Sarah notices a downward sales trend for Dr. Ackerman in the reporting tool, and she needs to check information in CRM to plan what steps to take for the account. Sarah selects Dr. Ackerman’s account from the external app and opens it directly in CRM. From the Account Timeline, she notices interactions with the account have slowed, and she schedules more calls with the account in the upcoming weeks.

Ensure initial configuration is complete to use this functionality.

This feature is available for the Accounts object only.

Using Account Deep Linking

Veeva CRM supports a custom URL used by external developers to link users to a specific account record. The URL contains the 18-character CRM account ID. For example,

veeva://Account/001j0000007Ir50AAC

Developers can include this link an any external application.

If a user previously signed into Veeva CRM and then selects an account from the external application, the default account view displays if the last-viewed screen in CRM that was not in edit mode. Once in CRM, selecting the Back button displays the last viewed page.

For example, after navigating to Dr. Ackerman’s account in CRM from the external reporting tool, Sarah selects the Back button from the Account Timeline to display the Account Details page for Verteo Biopharma. This page displays because it was the last page Sarah viewed before navigating to the external application.

The default account view is the tab configured to display first on the Account toolbar. For more information, see Default Account View.

If the last-viewed CRM screen was in edit mode, an error message displays if data loss could occur. Selecting OK removes the error message and displays the current CRM screen.

Edit screens include both main screens and popup screens.

If a user selects an account but is not signed in to Veeva CRM, the Login screen displays.

Invalid links are logged in the activity log for debugging.