Managing the Veeva CRM Desktop for Mac

Users can install the app, sign in, and manage app updates. Ensure software requirements are satisfied and all appropriate VMOCs are configured to use the app.

Installing the App

Users can download the app installer directly or perform the following steps:

  1. Launch the media library from the View Media Library tab or from a call report.
  2. Select download & run Veeva CRM Desktop.

  3. Launch the downloaded DMG file.
  4. Move the DMG file to the Applications folder.

  5. Move the DMG file to the Trash after the app is installed.

Signing In

Users can launch the Veeva CRM Desktop app from the desktop icon and sign in with their Veeva CRM credentials. After signing in, the app remains running in the background and accessible from the app icon in the system tray even after ending a call or closing the window, and even if the user did not launch the app from a call. When the app window is closed, double-select the icon to reopen the app.

A one-time performance tuning process occurs after upgrading to Veeva CRM Desktop 22R1. The process occurs automatically after signing in to the upgraded app for the first time and can take a few minutes.

Updating the App

The app checks for version updates every time it is launched, a user successfully signs in, and after every full sync. Full syncs occur:

  • When a user successfully signs in
  • Daily
  • When a user performs a manual sync
  • When content updates are detected online

App updates can be optional or required.

When users are not in a call or an event, an update alert displays when there is an app version update. If the app window is minimized or closed when there is an update, the window automatically reopens and displays in the foreground.

When users are in a call or an event, app update alerts for optional and required app updates do not display until the call or event ends.

If the update is optional, users can:

  • Initiate call mode or join a call to hide the alert until the call ends
  • Select Update Now to update the app immediately. The app quits and automatically relaunches after the update completes. Users do not need to sign in again. Any unsynced CLM tracking data is saved and syncs after the app relaunches.
  • Select Update Later to update the app at a later time. The Update Now button in the media library menu and tray icon menu becomes available. When users are ready to update the app, select Update from either menu.

If the app update is required, select Update Now to update the app immediately. The app quits and automatically relaunches after the update completes. Users do not need to sign in again. Any unsynced CLM tracking data is saved and syncs after the app relaunches.