Handling Sync Errors

Sync errors prevent users from syncing their devices to the Online platform and can occur in a variety of ways. When encountering a sync error, it is important to identify the cause and make the appropriate correction.

When users encounter a sync error, a modal displays informing them a sync error occurred. After selecting OK, the Errors tab displays. This lists an error for each record causing the greater sync error, along with an action list to correct the error.

Some sync errors cannot be fixed and must be cleared.

Common sync errors include:

  • Insufficient object or field permissions
  • Loss of visibility to a field, record, or object due to territory or FLS updates
  • Inability to merge updates from a mobile device with updates online
  • Inability to delete a record due to OLS updates
  • Metadata changes resulting in create and update errors
  • Any object which can be locked to prevent further updates
  • Call backdate limits

Undo and Undelete in Errors Tab

Users can undo or undelete changes causing sync errors. If an update to an existing record causes a sync error, the user has the option to undo that change during the next incremental sync, where the whole object table is refreshed.

If the user deletes a record offline, but does not have sufficient privileges to delete it on the server, the user can resolve the error by undeleting the record. This triggers a database refresh during the next incremental sync to ensure all relationships to the deleted record are also restored.

Clearing Client Sync Errors

If there is a pending upload for a record when a sync error occurs, the error cannot be resolved by undoing or undeleting records. Instead, users can clear client sync errors from the most recent sync. This allows users to remove any persisting errors they are unable to fix.

To prevent data loss, contact Support for assistance when clearing client sync errors.

For example, an admin revokes Sarah Jones’ access to a call record. Any changes Sarah makes to the record on her device can no longer sync online, causing a sync error. Since she cannot fix the error, she enables the Clear Client Sync Errors check box on her user record. After the field is enabled, Sarah syncs her device incrementally to clear the error.

Configuring Clear Client Sync Errors

To enable this functionality, grant users FLS edit permission to the Clear_Client_Sync_Errors_vod field on the User object.

Clearing Client Sync Errors

Before enabling this check box, the user should ensure all the sync errors on the device are not fixable and should be cleared. Once the check box is enabled, the user must perform an incremental sync to clear the errors on the device from the previous sync.

When the sync completes, the errors are cleared and the check box is automatically disabled. To clear errors in the future, the user must re-enable it.

If this functionality is used with a forced full refresh, the device’s database resets to match the online data.

Using Forced Full Refresh

Instead of directing a user to perform a database refresh, admins can use the Forced_Full_Sync_vod sync type on the Sync_Tracking_vod object so the next time the user syncs, the device automatically performs the database refresh. See Sync Tracking for more information.

The Force_Full_Refresh_vod check box field must be selected on the user's User record to perform a forced full refresh when the user syncs. If the user has FLS Edit permission to the Force_Full_Refresh_vod check box field on the User object, the field is automatically deselected after a forced full refresh occurs. Without FLS Edit permission to the field, a forced full refresh occurs every time the user syncs.

Managing Online Errors

In some cases, calls sent to the server from an offline platform cause an error when applied to the online system. Admins can use the Call Errors tab online to manage these errors. Each error displays with one of two possible causes: Account Access or Call Locked.

Admins can select the check box next to each error and either resolve or delete the errors. Resolving the error attempts to automatically resolve the error with the call. Deleting the error deletes the call synced from the offline device.

Sending Sync Files to Veeva

Sync files can be sent to Veeva Support remotely. This enables easier troubleshooting and data restoration if necessary. To enable this feature, grant admins FLS edit permission to the Upload_VTrans_vod field on the User object.

If this check box is selected for a specified user, the next time that user syncs, the offline device automatically sends the sync files to Veeva. The check box is automatically deselected after this action.