Merging Accounts

When accounts are merged, special processing is in place to properly handle the losing account's Target record and all related calculations. If the accounts are on the same MCCP, the losing account's Target is inactivated and excluded from future processing.

Inactive Target records can be deleted.

For example, Sarah Jones's cycle plan erroneously contains two entries for Dr. Ackerman: one for his current employer and one for his previous employer. Her admin performs an account merge, and the outdated contact information is removed from Sarah's cycle plan.

Ensure initial configuration is complete to use this functionality.

Sample Use Case Scenarios

Account Scenario Post-Merge Outcome
Only the winning Account is on an MCCP No change needed since the losing Account is not on the MCCP.
Only the losing Account is on an MCCP

The Account lookup on the Target record changes from the losing Account to the winning Account (standard SFDC merge behavior).

The Target record remains active.

Both the winning and losing Accounts are on an MCCP

No change to the winning Account's Target record.

The Account lookup on the losing Account's Target record changes from the losing Account to the winning Account (standard SFDC merge behavior).

The losing Account's Target record Status_vod = Merged_vod.

This means the losing Target's record is inactive and all calculations that include this Target record are ignored.